AERO is a collective of arts organizations and artists dedicated to working together to build bridges between schools and the arts community.

 
 
Mission: The mission of AERO is to build bridges between schools and the arts community, ensuring an arts-inclusive education for all San Diego County students.
 
Vision: All San Diego County students have access to engaging, relevant, quality arts education.
 

AERO Core Values:

  1. Advocacy = the act or process of supporting arts education.
  2. Equity, diversity and inclusion = ensuring quality arts education for all students in San Diego.
  3. Engagement = an active process in which all participants are devoted to a shared course of action and experience change through being involved.
  4. Innovative Collaboration = working together to create artistic opportunities in arts education on all levels.
  5. Transformative Learning = broadening perspectives in beliefs and behaviors through knowledge acquisition and critical behavior.
 

AERO Event Schedule 2020-2021:

AERO Annual Meeting - August 17, 2020 Register here: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1023-187270

AERO Quarterly Meetings

November 16, 2020 Register here: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1023-187271

January 11, 2021 Register here: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1023-187272

March 26, 2021 Register here: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1023-187273

May 28, 2021 Register here: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1023-187274  


AERO Professional Development

Coming Soon

 

AERO Committee Meetings

All Committees:

August 17, 2020 - 12p.m.-2p.m.

Additional dates will be added soon

Governance Committee:

Meeting dates will be added soon


AERO Committees

Governance - Improve the functionality of AERO through a coordinated effort focused on structure, communication, and commitment to the mission and vision of the organization.

Johanna Benson jbenson@sdmart.org

Pauline Crooks pauline.crooks@sdcoe.net

Julia Cuppy jcuppy@ljp.org

John Gabriel john.gabriel@sdopera.org

Susan Hall susan.rhythmworx@gmail.com

Adrienne Valencia adrienne@artsforlearningsd.org

Shelby Woulfe shelby@outsidethelens.org

Professional Development - Serve local arts professionals such as teaching artists and arts administrators by promoting accessible and relevant professional development opportunities.

Larry DaSilveira larry@mediaartscenter.org

Lucy Eagleson lucy@outsidethelens.org

Lynne Jennings sandiegopuppetry@gmail.com

Keri Jhaveri keri.jhaveri@artsforlearningsd.org

Erin Roberts erinroberts773@gmail.com

Li-Anne Rowswell-Mufson auntlianne@gmail.com

Ell Rudgers lrudgers@escondido.org

Tim West tim@cygnettheatre.com

Advocacy & Communications - The purpose of the Advocacy/Communications committee is twofold:
  • To improve communication and collaboration among AERO organizations.
  • To strategically advocate through community education to establish and maintain relationships with San Diego County stakeholders such as schools, policy makers, and teaching artists.

Jess Baron jess@guitarsintheclassroom.org

Julie Guy julie@themusictherapycenter.com

Susan Hall susan.rhythmworx@gmail.com

Erika Paul erika@artsforlearningsd.org

Patricia Smith patricia.smith@artsbusexpress.org

 

Become a Member of AERO

Please take the following actions to complete the membership application:

 

AERO-OnePage-Thumbnail-2

 

Provide 3 letters of recommendation from those with firsthand knowledge of services provided to students (PreK-12). Can include:
  • Contracting and/or Partnering organizations who are AERO Members
  • Community Centers/Libraries/Service Organizations
  • Teachers/School Administrators/Parent Organization Leaders
**The letters need to be dated in the last 2 years and provide a copy of 501(c)3 or Business License.
 
Complete the online membership application available by clicking here. Letters and other supporting documents should be emailed to pauline.crooks@sdcoe.net or sent via U.S. Mail to Pauline Crooks, SDCOE, 6401 Linda Vista Road, San Diego, CA 92111. Applications are reviewed by the AERO Governance Committee twice a year, in June and December.
Advantages of Provisional AERO Membership include:
  • Opportunities to Network and Collaborate with AERO member organizations (Quarterly Meetings, Strategic Planning, Arts Empower San Diego Mega Conference)
  • Opportunities to attend Professional Learning related to the work of AERO member organizations (Quarterly Meetings, Strategic Planning, Arts Empower San Diego Mega Conference, AERO PD Sessions)
Full AERO Membership also includes access to the following:
  • Opportunities to Network and Collaborate with School District Personnel (examples include the AERO website, Arts Pack, tables at events such as Arts Empower San Diego Mega Conference, SDUSD VAPA Liaison Day)
 
Learn more about Resources and Professional Learning by visiting https://www.sdcoe.net/lls/ccr/Pages/visual-and-performing-arts.aspx
 

Sign up here to receive a monthly newsletter with news and resources, professional learning opportunities and other events, and more.